Southern Riverina News

Nine new COVID-19 cases

By Daniel Hughes

An additional nine cases of coronavirus have been confirmed in the Murrumbidgee Local Health District, but none are in the Berrigan Shire and Murrumbidgee Council region.

The new cases are located in the Albury, Griffith, Federation, Cootamundra-Gundagai and Wagga Wagga local government areas.

It takes the total number of COVID-19 cases in the local health district to 10 as of 5pm yesterday.

MLHD said all confirmed cases were diagnosed after travelling overseas or being in contact with a confirmed case.

“All patients have experienced mild to moderate symptoms and are in self isolation to ensure they do not transmit the virus. They are being managed at home with the support of their GP and a daily check up with local health services,” an MLHD spokesperson said.

“The MLHD Public Health Unit interviews the person to determine their movements while they were infectious. Where individuals are identified as close contacts, the Public Health Unit directs these contacts to self-isolate for 14 days after they were last in contact with the case.

“Reducing contact between people unless absolutely necessary, especially those in our population who may be more vulnerable or susceptible to the illness because of age or weakened immunity, is critical to slowing the spread and impact of COVID-19.”